Like any other state in the union, Georgia is host to its own set of unique laws. Many of these laws affect personal injury cases. From dog bite laws to traffic regulations, these laws and statutes can impact how Georgia legal cases play out.
Georgia Isn’t a “One Bite Rule” State
Many states throughout the U.S. adhere to a “one bite” statute when it comes to dog attack cases. This law mandates that for the pet owner to be held liable, they must have been aware that their dog was dangerous.
To establish this history of violent behavior, dog bite lawyers must consult previous police or violent animal reports. If the dog bite in question was the animal’s first attack, the owner might be off the hook.
There are two other forms of dog bite legal frameworks:
- Strict liability: The owner can be held liable for the dog bite regardless of their actions.
- Negligence: The owner can be held liable if sufficient evidence demonstrates that they weren’t properly controlling their animal.
Georgia adheres to a negligence rule. This means that to win a dog bite case, you and your lawyer must prove that the owner wasn’t properly controlling their animal, and that led to your injuries.
Per O.C.G.A. § 51-2-7, showing that the dog was off-leash or not “at heel” at the time of the attack is enough to demonstrate negligence.
For a free legal consultation, call (404) 888-8888
Georgia Has One of the Shortest Statutes of Limitations for Personal Injury
The term “statute of limitations” refers to the amount of time you have to file a civil lawsuit. Per O.C.G.A. § 9-3-33, you only have two years from the date of injury to file a personal injury lawsuit in civil court.
Some states, like North Dakota, allow up to six years to bring a personal injury lawsuit. Others are even shorter. Tennessee, for instance, only offers a one-year deadline for personal injury actions.
Two years may seem like ample time to file the paperwork for a lawsuit. However, time passes quickly when you are trying to recover and return to a normal life.
It’s a good idea to get started on your legal case as soon as possible. A lawyer can ensure your case is filed on time with the court, so you do not miss your chance to pursue the compensation you deserve.
GA Companies With 3 or More Employees Must Offer Workers’ Compensation
Workers’ compensation allows employees injured on the job to secure financial recovery for medical bills and time missed from work.
In Georgia, if you’re a business owner with three or more employees, you must offer workers’ compensation benefits. Injured employees can receive these weekly benefit amounts based on the status of their injury:
- If you’re completely unable to work: You could receive two-thirds of your weekly wage up to a maximum of $675 a week.
- If you’re only able to work part-time: You could receive a reduced weekly compensation rate for up to 350 weeks.
Parents Can Be Held Liable If Their Teen Gets in a Car Accident
According to O.C.G.A. § 51-2-2, parents can be held liable if their teen gets in a car accident that damages another party. This law may sound unfair, however, if you look at the possible types of parental negligence, it makes a little more sense:
- The parent knew that their teen was an unsafe driver and still allowed them to drive.
- The parent allowed the teen to drink and drive.
- The parent encouraged the teen to drive in an unsafe manner.
This law isn’t unique to Georgia. Most states have their own parental liability laws.
If you are the parent of a teen who has recently started driving, it’s worth discussing the importance of roadway safety with them. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) provide some statistics worth taking into consideration:
- Teens between 16-19 are the most likely age group to get into a car crash.
- The presence of other teens in the car increases the risk of an accident.
- Boys are twice as likely as girls to get into car crashes.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Georgia Is a Comparative Fault State for Auto Accidents
After a car accident in Georgia, the insurance companies must determine what percentage each party was at fault. Your role in the accident will impact your insurance settlement.
For example, if you were 40% responsible for the accident, you would receive 60% of your potential compensation. However, if you are more than 50% responsible for a car accident in Georgia, you will not be able to receive compensation.
Working with a car accident lawyer in Georgia can help build a strong case for compensation by proving the other driver was at fault for your crash.
Have Questions? Our Lawyers Are Here to Help
If any of these weird laws sound like they may be relevant to your personal injury case, we’re here to help. Our firm has been advocating for the injured residents of Georgia since 2008. We can use this experience to fight for the best possible outcome in your case.
Here are just some of the services our firm offers:
- Help you file a lawsuit or insurance claim
- Negotiate with insurance companies on your behalf
- Represent you in the courtroom, if needed
- Act as your legal guide and answer any questions you might have
Call our team today for your free case consultation.