How much compensation you can get for a hit-and-run accident is based on the type of insurance coverage you have and the coverage limits of your policy. For hit-and-run cases in which the driver responsible cannot be identified, you will have to resort to your uninsured or underinsured policy for compensation.
According to Georgia Code § 33-7-11, all auto insurance policies must provide uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage of no less than $25,000 for bodily injuries or the death of one person in a single accident, and $50,000 in coverage for injuries or death to two or more people. Policyholders have the option to waive this coverage, but they must do so in writing.
The Costs of a Hit-and-Run Collision
Personal injury cases in Georgia fall under the state’s tort laws. According to these statutes, you have the right to seek compensation for injuries, losses, and damages that you suffered in an accident due to the recklessness or negligence of another party. You can do so through the at-fault driver’s insurance policy or by filing a personal injury lawsuit.
The issue with seeking compensation in a hit-and-run accident is that there is no identifiable at-fault party from whom you can seek compensation for your losses. While this is a relatively uncommon scenario, these types of accidents still occur every day across the country.
The American Automobile Association Foundation for Traffic Safety (AAA) has found that one hit-and-run accident occurs every minute in the United States, and there are over 735,000 hit-and-run accidents in the country every year. These accidents lead to tens of billions of dollars in losses in the form of property damage, medical treatment costs, lost productivity, and insurance overheads.
For individual victims, however, a single accident can easily overwhelm their financial resources, especially if a breadwinner or head of the household is injured in the accident and unable to work. This is why uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage is so important.
Generally, uninsured and underinsured insurance policies cover accident victims for collisions in which the at-fault party does not have insurance. However, they can also apply to accidents in which the at-fault party is unidentifiable.
For a free legal consultation, call (404) 888-8888
Hit-and-Run Coverage From an Uninsured Motorist Policy
If you experience an accident with a driver who flees the scene and you have an uninsured or underinsured motorist policy, you can receive coverage up to the limits of your policy. As per Georgia state laws, policy minimums start at $25,000 for bodily injuries or death. You can also opt for higher coverage limits based on your needs and willingness to pay for more coverage from your insurer.
If the value of your losses exceeds the limits of your policy, you may be able to use another policy that you have. For example, a collision or comprehensive policy may offer more coverage for your hit-and-run accident.
In some cases, losses to property or belongings can be included in a homeowners’ insurance policy. However, your Atlanta car accident lawyer can only seek compensation and file a claim for specific losses if they meet your insurance company’s criteria for coverage. If you do not have insurance, you will likely have to pay for the damages and losses yourself.
Compensable Damages in a Hit-and-Run Case
As is true for other types of accidents, the amount of compensation you will likely be eligible for will depend on the value of your losses. These include losses such as:
- Damage to your vehicle.
- Medical treatment expenses.
- Lost income.
It is important to remember that any compensation you can get from a hit-and-run accident is contingent upon having enough proof to show that you sustained specific losses and injuries, and that these fall under compensable damages.
You can use invoices or bills to calculate how much you should receive in compensation. Your damages must also fall within the coverage limits of any applicable insurance policies you hold.
Call Bader Scott Injury Lawyers About Your Hit-and-Run Accident Today
How much compensation you can get in a hit-and-run accident can be difficult to calculate. Many different driving and insurance laws can come into play when determining a fair compensation amount for your case. Moreover, your insurance company may deny your coverage if you are unable to provide the necessary evidence.
Please contact the Bader Scott Injury Lawyers team today for assistance with your hit-and-run accident. We can help you calculate the compensation you deserve, collect evidence to support your claim, and speak with the insurance company on your behalf. You can reach us now at (404) 888-8888.