The Insurance Information Institute (III) stated 12% of drivers in Georgia are not insured. If you wind up in an accident with a driver who doesn’t have insurance, you will most likely need to rely on your own uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Georgia
Georgia insurers are required to offer uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage, per O.C.G.A. § 33-7-11.
Uninsured motorist coverage provides coverage in cases where the at-fault driver did not have liability insurance. Underinsured motorist coverage provides coverage for cases in which the at-fault driver’s insurance was not sufficient to cover the victim’s damages.
Unless you signed a document stating that you did not want uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage, you probably have these options. If you don’t have this coverage, you may want to work with Atlanta car accident lawyers to discuss your compensation options.
What do Uninsured and Underinsured Insurance Coverage Policies Provide?
These types of insurance policies are add-on policies because you add them to your already-existing insurance plans. Uninsured and underinsured insurance can provide coverage in cases involving:
- Accidents caused by drivers with no insurance coverage
- Accidents caused by drivers whose own insurance companies have denied the claim
- Accidents caused by drivers who carry a minimum amount of insurance that is not sufficient to pay for your losses
- Hit-and-run accidents in which you do not know who the at-fault driver is
- Pedestrian or cycling accidents
This type of insurance pays for your covered damages, up to the policy’s limits. If you have never been involved in a collision or don’t understand the claims process, an uninsured motorist car accident lawyer can review your policy and determine your options.
Car Accidents FAQsIs Falling Asleep While Driving Gross Negligence?Will My Insurance Company Use Video Surveillance After a Car Accident?Can Reckless Driving Cause a Side-Impact Accident?What Is the Difference Between Gap, Liability, Collision, and Comprehensive Car Insurance?How Long Does It Take for Points to Come Off Your Driving Record in Georgia?Is a Driver Responsible for His Passengers?
All Motorists Are Required to Have Insurance in Georgia
By law, every commuter must maintain minimum liability insurance requirements to drive on Georgia’s roads and highways, according to the Office of Commissioner of Insurance and Safety Fire. The minimum requirements are as follows:
- Bodily injury liability of $25,000 per person
- Bodily injury liability of $50,000 per accident
- Property damage liability of $25,000 per accident
Liability insurance covers the damages you cause to another person due to your own negligence. Therefore, if someone else’s negligence caused your accident, you should be able to file a claim against their liability insurance. However, if the at-fault party does not have insurance, again, you may have to turn to your own auto insurance policy.
How Our Team Can Help with Your Uninsured Motorist Claim
If you suffer injuries from an uninsured driver, our team can build an insurance claim or lawsuit on your behalf. We can help you:
- Identify all at-fault and liable parties
- Communicate with the at-fault driver’s representatives as well as your own insurance company
- Gather evidence, such as the police report, your medical records, and injury-related invoices
- Calculate the full extent of your damages by reviewing your medical bills, employment documentation, and other evidence
- Review your insurance policy to determine what coverage options are available
- Negotiate a fair settlement with the liable insurance company
- Filing your lawsuit in civil court (if we can’t reach a settlement agreement)
A personal injury lawyer can help you secure compensation for the damages that you have sustained. You should not have to face financial distress or a confusing claims process because of an accident that was caused by someone else’s negligence.
We Can Address Your Case’s Challenges
Car accident cases are seldom straightforward – even if fault and liability are clear. We can use our years of experience and network of resources to address any obstacles that threaten your case’s progression.
Here are some issues that we can counteract in your case:
- The insurer denies your claim. Sometimes, insurance companies don’t treat their own clients fairly. If they deny your claim, we’ll either keep negotiating or file a lawsuit against the negligent driver.
- The insurer blames you for the accident. O.C.G.A. § 51-12-33 says that you can pursue damages as long as you were not primarily responsible for the collision. We can use traffic camera recordings, the police report, and other documents to prove your case’s validity.
- The other driver left the accident scene. In this case, the statute of limitations could be tolled, and you could be granted additional time to act. We will investigate your situation to locate the negligent driver. They could face criminal charges in addition to your civil case.
We have recovered hundreds of millions of dollars for Georgia car accident claimants. We have no problem taking on even the most hopeless of cases–and we pride ourselves on securing fair outcomes.
How Long do You Have to File an Uninsured Motorist Accident Lawsuit?
Per O.C.G.A. § 9-3-33 (Georgia’s statute of limitations), you generally have two years from the date of your collision to file a civil lawsuit. To file your wrongful death lawsuit, you also have two years to file, except the deadline begins from the date of your loved one’s passing.
Why is it important to file your lawsuit within this deadline? Well:
- You could lose the right to financial recovery if the “clock” runs out.
- The courts could dismiss your case with prejudice, meaning you can never file it ever again.
- If the courts dismiss your case, you could have to pay for your losses out of pocket.
If you connect with our team in a timely manner, we can file your case within the appropriate deadline.
Contact Us for Help with Your Uninsured Motorist Claim
If you get into an accident where the other driver doesn’t have insurance, you have the opportunity to work with a lawyer. Our lawyers are committed to helping you obtain maximum compensation for your damages.
Call (404) 888-8888 to begin your free case review.