The amount that workers’ compensation pays in Georgia depends on the income of the worker and the nature of their injuries.
According to the Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation (SBWC), workers injured in accidents after July 1, 2019 may receive a payment of two-thirds the amount of their average weekly wage. However, there is a $675 weekly cap on these payments, with no higher payments being provided.
For average injury victims, these full benefits can continue unabated for up to 400 weeks. For parties suffering from traumatic injuries, they may be eligible to receive benefits for the rest of their life.
Other Circumstances That Can Affect Workers’ Compensation Pay
Further, you can also receive additional compensation for ailments like:
- Losing an arm or leg, which can result in 225 weeks of benefits or more
- Damage to eyesight or hearing
- Loss of function in an area of the body, including paralysis
In the case of injured parties who are well enough to return to work, only to find that they have been demoted to a less lucrative position, they may be eligible for reduced benefits that max out at $450 a week. These payments will not exceed a period of 350 weeks.
The dependents of workers who die on the job site can receive two-thirds of the worker’s average weekly pay, with a $675 cap applied. Dependents include a spouse, children, or stepchildren. In situations where the deceased worker had no children, the surviving spouse can be compensated up to $270,000 before the payments run out.
For a free legal consultation, call (404) 888-8888
Workers’ Compensation FAQsCan You Go on Vacation While on Workers’ Compensation?What Kind of Deductions Can Be Taken from My Workers’ Compensation Settlement?What if My Employer Refuses to Report My Injury?How to Document a Workers’ Compensation InjuryDo I Have to Pay Taxes on a Workers’ Compensation Payout?Can You Submit a Workers’ Compensation Claim After Leaving Your Job?
Eligibility for Workers’ Compensation Benefits
Virtually all employees become eligible for workers’ compensation their first day at work. Georgia state law dictates that businesses provide workers’ compensation coverage for their employees as long as they have three or more people on staff. Even part-time workers count toward this total.
Workers’ compensation may be available to workers on a no-fault basis, even if they contributed in some way to their accident.
Workers’ Compensation Claims Can Be Denied
It is possible that your workers’ compensation claim can be denied. This can happen for a number of reasons, including:
- Missing information in your report
- A contested pre-existing condition
- Lack of compliance with the medical process
- Doubt that your injury occurred at work
Your notice of denial may detail why your case was not approved. After you receive a denial, you may appeal the decision before the Georgia SBWC.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Working With a Lawyer on Your Appeal
A workers’ compensation lawyer may be able to help you appeal a denial of benefits to the Georgia SBWC.
A lawyer may be able to help you:
- Interpret your denial notice and determine why your application was rejected
- Help you assemble additional evidence to support your appeal, such as eyewitness testimony, video surveillance, or photos taken from the accident scene
- Authorize the forensic analysis of physical evidence, including having third-party labs examine potentially toxic chemicals and having expert witnesses reconstruct the accident scene
- Examine any medical documentation of the injuries, then match the injuries to the details of the accident
- Hire medical or vocation experts to testify in your defense
- Present your appeal before the judge
Even if the judge rejects your appeal, you have a second chance for an appeal before with the Appellate Division. If necessary, a lawyer can help you prepare and file this second appeal as well.
Bader Scott Injury Lawyers Can Fight for Your Workers’ Compensation Benefits
Bader Scott Injury Lawyers helps injured workers file workers’ compensation claims and appeals in the Atlanta area. We operate on a contingency-fee basis, meaning you do not need to pay us in advance for our services. Rather, our payment only comes as a percentage of your workers’ compensation award if your case succeeds.
Bader Scott Injury Lawyers can offer legal guidance at every stage of the workers’ compensation process when we represent you. Allow us to handle the evidence gathering, paperwork, deadlines, and communications in your case while you focus on your treatment.
For a free consultation on your case with a member of our team, contact Bader Scott Injury Lawyers today at (404) 888-8888. We can discuss your accident, your options, and what your Georgia workers’ compensation claim may pay as part of this call.