There are four types of workers’ compensation benefits available through Georgia workers’ compensation coverage. They help employees make ends meet while they are out of work. They include:
- Temporary total disability benefits
- Temporary partial disability benefits
- Permanent partial disability benefits
- Death benefits for surviving family members
These are known as indemnity benefits. While they are one of the most important benefits to most workers who suffered injury or illness at work, there are also other types of benefits included with workers’ compensation. These include:
- Medical care and treatment coverage
- Rehabilitation coverage
- Partial wage coverage
Indemnity Benefits Available Through Georgia Workers’ Compensation
The Georgia workers’ compensation law provides for four different types of indemnity benefits that are available to replace lost income for injured workers. The actual rate of pay for each of these benefits depends on the average weekly income of the worker, up to a maximum set by state law.
According to the State Board of Workers’ Compensation, the four types of workers’ compensation benefits available to injured or ill workers include:
Temporary Total Disability Benefits
Workers who are hurt at work and cannot work at all because of their injuries will qualify for temporary total disability (TTD). This determination is made by the doctor treating them for their on-the-job illness or injury. Weekly payments are generally two-thirds of your usual income for up to 400 weeks or until you can return to work.
When a worker suffers devastating, catastrophic injuries, the 400-week limit may be waived.
Temporary Partial Disability Benefits
Temporary partial disability (TPD) payments supplement a worker’s income when they can return to work but only at a limited capacity because of their injuries. This situation may result in decreased take-home pay from their job. To make up the difference, TPD provides the difference between the wages the worker earns and two-thirds of their average wages before their injury.
These payments continue until the worker can return to their previous position, or they exhaust 350 weeks of TPD benefits.
Permanent Partial Disability Benefits
If a worker suffers a permanent disability because of their workplace accident but does not receive TTD or TPD, they may qualify for PPD. This benefit pays out based on a percentage of disability related to the type of injury suffered and the number of weeks allowable for that injury as detailed in the Official Code of Georgia Annotated (O.C.G.A.) § 34-9.
If an employee passes away from their workplace injuries or illness, their spouse, minor children, and other dependents may qualify for income replacement benefits. In addition, funeral and burial expenses may be covered up to a set limit.
For a free legal consultation, call (404) 888-8888
Workers’ Compensation FAQsCan You Go on Vacation While on Workers’ Compensation?What Kind of Deductions Can Be Taken from My Workers’ Compensation Settlement?What if My Employer Refuses to Report My Injury?How to Document a Workers’ Compensation InjuryDo I Have to Pay Taxes on a Workers’ Compensation Payout?Can You Submit a Workers’ Compensation Claim After Leaving Your Job?
Third-Party Claims for Damages After a Workplace Accident
While Georgia workers’ compensation laws do not allow injured employees to file a lawsuit against their employer, some injured workers can pursue damages through a civil suit if a third party’s negligence caused their accident. This civil suit may allow the worker to recover additional damages, including pain and suffering losses.
For example, if a careless delivery driver struck a worker on a construction site, the worker may be able to file a civil suit against the employer of the delivery truck driver and hold them liable for their driver’s actions.
Qualifying for Workers’ Compensation Benefits
Georgia workers’ compensation laws are codified in O.C.G.A. § 34-9 and administered by the Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation (SBWC). They provide benefits to workers who suffered injuries in an incident at work, have a pre-existing condition worsened by work, or have a work-related illness. Under the law, any employer who has at least three employees must provide workers’ compensation insurance coverage for all employees on their payroll.
Workers can get immediate coverage of their related medical care and may receive wage replacement benefits within eight days of their injury. The worker does not have to prove fault or show how the injuries occurred, only that they occurred at work.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Talk to a Member of Our Team About Your Workplace Injury
During your free consultation with a member of the Bader Scott Injury Lawyers workers’ compensation team, we can help you understand the type of coverage you should qualify for based on Georgia’s workers’ compensation law. If necessary, we can help you complete the paperwork and take action in your claim or appeal a denial.
If you suffered injuries while working or have a work-related illness, you may qualify for TTD, TPD, or PPD benefits. Let our team evaluate your case and help you claim the compensation you deserve based on your injuries and your employer’s policy.
Call (678) 562-5595 now to learn more.