If another driver behaves with negligence and hits you, there are certain things you should do after the car accident. Start by checking for any injuries to those riding in your vehicle, and then check on the occupants of other cars in the crash, if you can.
If possible, there are a number of other steps you should take to protect your interests. However, you first need to tend to the injured, including yourself.
Additionally, do not confront the other driver in an accusatory manner. You do not want to ramp up the stress level after the crash by arguing or yelling at the other driver, as you cannot be certain how the other driver may react. Wait for first responders and law enforcement to arrive before discussing the crash.
Stopping After the Crash
When someone hits your car, you should pull off to the side of the road immediately, if possible. In the state of Georgia, Official Code of Georgia Annotated (OCGA) §40-6-273 says that drivers must stop and call police after an accident if the injuries or property damage estimates to be at least $500.
Because nearly any crash that involves two or more vehicles is going to create more than $500 in damage, with the exception of minor fender-benders, you should pull over after the accident and call the police.
If you are unable to make a phone call because of your injuries, ask someone else in your car or a bystander to make the call if they have not done so already.
For a free legal consultation, call (404) 888-8888
Watching the Other Driver
If you are able to do so, try to keep an eye on the other driver. Do not confront him or her, and do not escalate an already stressful situation by yelling about who is at fault for the crash.
However, watch the other driver to make sure they do not try to flee the scene. If the other driver was violating Georgia’s impaired driving laws, he or she may attempt to leave before the police arrive to try to avoid the consequences of causing a crash while drunk or intoxicated.
Do not put yourself in harm’s way if the other driver appears as if he or she will flee the scene. Instead, take note of the driver’s license plate, color and make of car, and specific type and location of the damage on the car. These items will help police track down the driver safely.
Think About How the Crash Occurred
Do not admit fault for the crash at any point, either to the other driver or to police, and do not apologize for the accident. You can show sympathy for any injuries others have suffered, and you should try to help care for any injured people as much as you are able.
But do not take or admit blame. Even if the officers investigating the crash determine that the facts show the other driver was at fault for the crash, the other driver’s insurance company may still use your words against you when trying to negotiate a personal injury settlement.
If the other driver’s insurance company can show that your actions played even a small role in the crash, it can reduce the settlement it offers to you. In other words, if you admit fault, it could reduce your settlement.
See a Doctor as Soon as Possible
You should either ride to the hospital in an ambulance following an accident or see your doctor the next day to have all of your injuries properly assessed. You will want to have a treatment plan in hand to guide you as you attempt to heal.
Seeking Compensation for Your Injuries
You may be driving safely on the roads in the Atlanta area, paying close attention to the road, and ready to arrive home after a long day. Suddenly, another driver comes out of nowhere and hits your car, giving you no time to react.
Here’s what you should do after you get into a car accident: After checking yourself and others in your car for injuries, you should call first responders. Do not confront the other driver. Try to diffuse the situation if at all possible. If your injuries have you in a lot of pain, or if you think you may be pinned in the vehicle, do not try to move. Wait for the police.
After seeing a doctor and having your injuries documented, you may want to call a personal injury attorney for help with your case. At Bader Scott Injury Lawyers, our team takes pride in defending the rights of car accident victims’ rights where the other driver was at fault. For a free case review, contact us at (404) 888-8888 as soon as possible.