Workers’ compensation does not pay full salary in Georgia. Workers’ compensation policies in Georgia cap wage and salary coverage at $675. This employee coverage is mandatory under Georgia law for companies with three or more full-time, part-time, or seasonal employees. Benefits are available to employees who suffer injuries as a result of a workplace accident or as a result of work-related activities.
Understanding Workers’ Compensation
Workers’ compensation policies are mandated by the state. Even the federal government has a workers’ compensation program. It is a type of no-fault coverage for employees who suffer injuries as a result of work or in a workplace accident.
Your injuries do not need to have occurred at your work premises for you to be eligible for workers’ compensation benefits. If you become injured while traveling for business, while performing a work-related errand, or attending a work-related function, you can claim these benefits. You can also claim them if you developed a chronic condition such as carpal tunnel syndrome, back pain, or pinched nerves because of the kind of work you do.
For a free legal consultation, call (404) 888-8888
Qualifying Injuries and Exceptions
If you suffered an injury while performing job-related tasks or as a result of your job, you will likely be covered under your employer’s workers’ compensation policy. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the leading causes of workplace injuries are falls, the use of machines and vehicles to perform work, and being struck by objects.
Workers in certain industries are more susceptible to specific injuries than workers in other industries. For example, slip and fall accidents are highly common in the retail and healthcare industries. Falls from a height are common in construction.
Electrocutions and machine-related accidents are common in factory work. Injuries and illnesses such as chronic back, neck, muscle, or nerve injuries—often related to sedentary work—are common in office jobs.
Exceptions to covered injuries include the following:
- Injuries sustained via the misuse of drugs or alcohol.
- Self-inflicted injuries.
- Injuries sustained while a worker was committing a crime.
- Injuries that are not job-related.
- Any injuries that were suffered because of employee conduct that was not in accordance with the company’s policies.
Types of Benefits
Workers’ compensation covers long-term illnesses, catastrophic and permanent injuries such as amputations, and other serious and nonserious injuries related to work. Medical bills, diagnostic testing, doctor’s visits, and medications are usually all covered.
The amount of compensation you qualify for also changes based on the circumstances surrounding your injury and its effects on your ability to work. An authorized doctor will use a predetermined injury assessment table to determine how much in benefits you should receive.
In most cases, an injured worker qualifies for benefits in the form of two-thirds of his or her weekly salary, up to a limit of $675 per week. work accidents that result in death, qualifying dependents are entitled to the same benefits. Widowed spouses without children can receive benefits up to a total of $270,000 as long as there is no change in marital status.
Even if you can come back to work but are unable to earn what you earned before, you can continue to receive benefits. These reduced benefits are set at a maximum of $450 per week. You can file a claim to receive these benefits for up to about seven years after your injury.
Medical Proof and Checkups
When filing a workers’ compensation claim, you will need to go to a preapproved doctor for treatment. Your employer’s policy may not accept invoices or reports from a non-panel doctor. Under the rules regarding worker’s compensation, your employer is required to provide certain information to you, including information for local doctors who work with these types of claims.
Furthermore, some policies may exclude certain workers, such as domestic helpers, farmers, or casual workers. You should check the coverage criteria of your employer’s policy to determine your eligibility.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Filing a Claim
You must submit workers’ compensation claims to the State Board of Workers’ Compensation (SBWC), accompanied by relevant documentation and proof. You will want to inform your employer within 30 days of sustaining an injury to protect your eligibility for coverage. Otherwise, you may undermine your own claim.
Get Help with Your Worker’s Compensation Claim
Once we answer the question of whether or not workers’ compensation pays full salary in Georgia, we can move on to questions like “How much do I qualify for, if any?” and “What happens if my claim gets denied?”
While we know Georgia workers’ compensation caps benefits at $675 per week, the amount you receive will depend on your particular circumstances. If you do not receive the benefits you believe your injuries warrant, an attorney may be able to help you request a hearing for your case.
Please contact the Bader Scott Injury Lawyers team today at (678)-562-5595 to learn more about this process.