In most cases, you are not allowed to sue your employer in Georgia, however, you can file a worker’s compensation claim if you were injured on the job. Barring a few exceptions, any employer who has more than three employees is required to provide worker’s compensation insurance for their employees. As such, if you are not self-employed or you are employed as an independent contractor, you may be able to receive compensation for the pain and suffering you received as a result of your injuries.
At Bader Scott Injury Lawyers, our attorneys believe in protecting the rights afforded to you under state law. As detailed under the Official Code of Georgia Annotated (OCGA) §34-9-81.1, you have the right to receive benefits if you can prove the injuries you suffered were work-related. Our attorneys can gather evidence in your case, including attempting to prove liability, and documenting the extent of your physical, mental, and financial suffering.
Even if you have been denied worker’s compensation in the past, a Johns Creek worker’s compensation lawyer can guide you through the filing process and help you to follow the steps necessary so that you can receive the compensation to which you may be entitled. You do not have to go through this alone.
To learn more about our worker’s compensation services at Bader Scott Injury Lawyers, contact a representative from our firm today at (404) 888-8888 to receive your free consultation.
Understanding Workers Compensation in Georgia
In Georgia, there are specific benefits and payment periods, depending on your unique injuries. According to the Georgia State Board of Worker’s Compensation (SBWC), workers injured in accidents after July 1, 2019, can receive a payment two-thirds the amount of their average weekly wage.
However, these benefits have a limit of $675 per week, regardless of previous income. In most cases of moderate injuries, these payments will continue for up to 400 weeks. If you are faced with severe, catastrophic injuries, you may be eligible to receive benefits for the rest of your life.
If you were injured and are able to return to work or are demoted to a lower-paying position because you are unable to perform the duties of your job, you may qualify for supplemental benefits. These reduced benefits cap out at $450 a week, and cannot extend for longer than 350 weeks.
For a free legal consultation with a workers compensation lawyer serving Johns Creek, call (404) 888-8888
Johns Creek Workers Compensation FAQsMy Job Isn’t Providing Guidance on my Work-Related Injury. What Steps Should I Take?Is Pain and Suffering Included in Workers’ Compensation?Will My Employer Find Out if I Hire a Lawyer?How Long Does a Workers’ Compensation (WC) Case Typically Last?What Is the Maximum TTD in Georgia?Can You Go on Vacation While on Workers’ Compensation?
Qualifying for Additional Benefits
According to the Georgia State Board of Worker’s Compensation, in addition to your regular worker’s compensation benefits, you may be eligible for additional support if you suffer one of the following injuries:
- Having an arm or leg amputated (This has the potential of resulting in an extra 225 weeks of benefits.)
- Impairments to your eyesight or hearing
- Loss of motor function in an important area of your body—this can accrue various benefits. These unique benefits will be calculated after an examination by an appointed medical professional.
If one of your loved ones passed away after a work-related accident, their descendants can receive two-thirds of the accident victim’s average weekly pay— up to a limit of $675. If there are no surviving children, the surviving spouse can receive up to $270,000.
Johns Creek Workers Compensation Lawyer Near Me (404) 888-8888
How Our Attorneys Can Work to Prove Liability in Your Case
Bader Scott Injury Lawyers has represented worker’s compensation cases throughout the state of Georgia, allowing us to study the laws that govern these claims and help our clients receive just compensation for their injuries.
If you retain a Johns Creek worker’s compensation lawyer at our firm, we can advise you of the guidelines that may affect your claim, and provide legal counsel so that you understand your rights and receive the compensation you deserve.
Our attorneys can investigate the cause of your accident and gather evidence to attempt to prove liability.
We can use a number of methods to help determine liability in your worker’s compensation claim, including:
- Documenting eyewitness testimony
- Reviewing photos and video from the scene of the accident
- Obtaining police reports
- Examining medical records
- Calling upon expert witnesses to examine the circumstances surrounding your accident’
In addition to employers and building owners, third-party entities may also be held accountable for your losses.
To learn more about proving liability in worker’s compensation claims, contact a Bader Scott Injury Lawyers representative today at (404) 888-8888 to receive your free consultation.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
A Johns Creek Worker’s Compensation Lawyer Is Ready to Fight for Your Claim
With a Johns Creek worker’s compensation lawyer from Bader Scott Injury Lawyers on your side, you can focus on your recovery while we investigate your claim. Our attorneys will work to educate you about worker’s compensation claims so you can feel confident moving forward with your case.
It’s important that you keep in mind that OCGA §9-3-33 places a two-year statute of limitations on personal injury claims, which can extend to accidents in the workplace. Two years may seem like a long time, but if you let too much time pass before filing a claim, you may be unable to recover compensation.
You are not alone in your fight for justice. We are here to help.
To get started on your case, contact a Bader Scott Injury Lawyers representative at (404) 888-8888 for your free consultation.